The Creative Challenge: Phase One.

14 03 2009

So, aside from tutorials and lists about how to keep track of things – I happened to be reading an awesome book called Caffeine For The Creative Mind 250 Exercises to wake up your brain.

It got me to thinking, half the stuff in it is based off things that sound pretty fun. I mean let’s face it, as creatives I’m sure as kids we all had an imagination , but as we got older it kind of went poof, or we overshadowed it with real life things we didn’t have to care about as kids.

So readers, my challenge for you (and you can pick any one out of the list) is for you to go out and tap into your inner child and have fun. Since we all need refreshing on what we use to think was fun/still is; here’s an infamous list:

DEF’s List of Fun!

1. Read your favorite childhood book.

2. Watch some childhood cartoon shows, the ones you died to wake up for on Saturday morning and would not miss for the world.

3. Blow bubbles – seriously. Remember how fun that use to be? Kudo points if they’re colored.

4. Buy a coloring book and crayons and freaking color. I know we could probably design the coloring pages, but no! No designing! That’s right, I said it. You need an old fashion coloring book and crayons. Kudos if you get the 96 pack crayons.

5. Make smores. Those are always fun and still taste good.

6. I’m sure we all have childhood toys that are collecting dust, bring em out and remember exactly what made it special.

7. Finger paint.

8. Build that tree house you swore you’d build and be the king/queen of. Remember building forts? Who says adults can’t have fun?

9. Relive the days where you took a sheet and two chairs and made a tent and slept in it.

10. Question everything – are you starting to remember when your mother told you to shut up?

11. Draw a treasure map and have someone else find the treasures. – I know, sounds kiddish, but hey we’re being kids again, not adults. I don’t care if you think it’s silly, at a point in time we didn’t care what everyone use to think when we were kids.

12. Watch your favorite child movies. Remember what you enjoy about doing that? Do it! I dig it. To be truthfully honest, my favorite movie is Lilo and Stitch, if it makes you feel better.

I’m sure there are more I could list, which I will. Though for now Go out and have some fun guys, and set aside the designing for another day. Who says you can’t act like a kid every now and then? If you’re not enjoying what you’re doing, then you’re not having fun and I say go have some fun. Right now.
– DEF