DEF’s Book Review: Time Management For The Creative Person.

17 04 2009

I guess I should be starting off this blog knowing that I’ve been MIA for the past couple of weeks. This all has to due with being on Spring break and putting my graphic design pursuits on the back burner and just having some down time. Nonetheless, I’m back with some useful information and a book us designers can turn to. I know there are some of us asking ‘If I only had the time to do this’ or ‘If I did less of that I would get that done’ – All right already, knock it off. I’m sure we all don’t have the time to read books. I know I don’t, but having to read Time Management for the Creative Person for my design classes, I figured it was worth a shot.

To my surprise, it’s actually written by someone who knows our ‘creative thought process’ and who is actually creative himself. This isn’t written for some suit and tie business attire wearing, left brain thinking, papyrus using loonie – this is in fact a book written for us. For those who sometimes think unconventional, who design all the time, who are up til 4 AM knowing that if you tweak something to your design, anything your muse will come along and help you. That’s right, it’s written with us in mind.

Lee Silber (the author) wrote the book to better handle our time. (Well duh, it’s called Time Management for a reason) – and to be truthfully honest it’s not a book where it says ‘first you have to clean off your desk and start with a clean slate’ it’s nothing like that at all. It’s a book that pertains to all creatives, whether we’re painters, artists, dancers, musicians. It’s a book that helps us become effective for us as well as our own clients. To not seem so scatter brained that we’re pretty much dead before we even get the design brief. Best part of it all, it’s written in a creative way with pull out quotes and humorous sections that you can’t help but laugh at it, that draws you in making you want to read it more often and kind of sit back and evaluate how you do spend your time.

Cause I can tell you, being a designer is rough. Hands down, I’m sure we all know that. Though wasting time while you’re designing (oh, don’t worry it’ll point out these things to you which I didn’t even know until reading the book) is possibly the death of us all from time to time.

The best part of it all, is that the book is relatively cheap. If you’re feeling like you want the new shiny version it’s about $10 USD or if you want it use it’s anywhere from $2 USD. You can find it here.

The book itself has helped a lot in understanding why I (and many creatives) do the things we do and how to break those bad habits. I’m sure if you pick up the book it won’t let you down.

-DEF

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

